“A Dog Named Christmas” coming to CBS

From The Hollywood Reporter:

‘Christmas’ plans at CBS

Click to order the book on Amazon

Click to order the book on Amazon

Hallmark special based on Greg Kincaid’s novel

By Nellie Andreeva

July 21, 2009, 11:00 PM ET

Hallmark Hall of Fame has started production on its next presentation for CBS, “A Dog Named Christmas.”

Bruce Greenwood (“Star Trek”), Noel Fisher (“The Riches”) and Linda Emond (“Julie & Julia”) are set to star in the holiday movie based on Greg Kincaid’s novel.

“Christmas” centers on Todd (Fisher), a developmentally challenged young man with a penchant for caring for animals in need. He sets out to convince his parents (Greenwood, Emond) and their rural community to participate in a local shelter’s Adopt a Dog for Christmas program, which entails caring for a dog during Christmas week, with the option of keeping the dog for good.

Todd eventually brings home a yellow Labrador he names “Christmas” and bonds with immediately.

Peter Werner (“Front of the Class”) is directing “Christmas” from a script by Jenny Wingfield (“The Man in the Moon”). Brent Shields (“The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler”) is executive producing the telefilm, which is filming in Saskatchewan.

9 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to watch this movie it looks awesome 🙂

  2. the best movie i have ever seen ! it should be showed more to open peoples eyes its a tear jerkier

  3. What is the name of the singer and the song she is singing when Todd and his dad are returning Christmas to the shelter?

  4. I never got to see the ending because my tape ran out….I only saw up to where they had offered the boy a job at the shelter after he took Christmas back….I hope it turned out good. Thanks.

  5. It is an awesome movie for sure….so heartwarming and the dogs all look so lovable. It made me want to hug each one of them. The family home and all seems so inviting. We need more movies like this one.

  6. This movie was so sweet. I cried. My Mom, sister and I loved it.

  7. Please let me know if this will be on again I missed it

    thanks

  8. This is an wonderful movie, I loved it. Where can I buy it? I want it for my grandkids.

Leave a Reply

